Dirt Sports Names Carl Renezeder 2006 Driver Of The Year

Dirt Sports Names Carl Renezeder 2006 Driver Of The Year

📅31 January 2007, 16:41

Newport Beach, CA (January 30, 2007) – Rising above stand-out drivers from all forms of off road competition, Championship Off Road Racing (CORR) driver Carl Renezeder has been named Dirt Sports Magazine’s 2006 Driver of the Year, an honor considered to be one of the most prestigious in off road racing.

“I was aware that I had been nominated for Driver of the Year, but I also knew there was stiff competition from a lot of super-talented guys who have done good things throughout the year,” said Carl Renezeder. “I was skiing in Mammoth when (Dirt Sports editor) Marty Fiolka called and told me I won; I practically fell out of the chairlift.”

To be honored with the award, nominees must have won the championship in their reflective series and exemplify their sport. In 2006 the competition was fierce. Other nominees included CORR Pro 4™ Champion Johnny Greaves, SCORE Class 10 Champion Darren Hardesty, UROC Super Modified Champion and Supercrawl V Champion Tracy Jordan, and SCORE Trophy Truck Champions B.J.Baldwin and Garron Cadiente.

During the award announcement in Las Vegas, Dirt Sports’ Marty Fiolka indicated many factors contributed to Renezeder’s overall win: his well-known devotion to his family, dedication to physical fitness, and a relentless focus on doing what it takes to win. Competing in CORR’s most hotly contested class, Renezeder won the 2006 CORR Pro 2™ Championship, besting accomplished drivers including Todd LeDuc, Michael Oberg, Scott Taylor and Jerry Whelchel. To further add to Renezeder’s 2006 challenges, he abandoned his Championship-winning Chevrolet before the season began, opting instead for a brand new Nissan Titan with a previously unproven engine. Despite some new truck bugs, Renezeder and his team triumphed over all the challenges.

“Quietly and with the utmost respect of his sponsors, fans and peers, Renezeder stands just above the mountain of talent in the off road racing world,” said Dirt Sports’ Marty Fiolka .

Accompanied by his family, Renezeder was presented with the award on January 18th at the Off Road Impact show in Las Vegas. As he excitedly took the stage, he commented to the crowd, “I wish my race truck was here on stage so I could climb up on top of the roof for this award. It’s kind of become my comfort zone.”

“Without my team, my family, without my sponsors and all the support group, I’d never be able to accomplish what I have,” said Carl Renezeder. “I am very honored for this award, but I’d also like to consider this a Team of the Year too.”

Previous Dirt Sports Driver of theYear winners include CORR’s Jason Baldwin in 2004, and rock crawling’s Shannon Campell in 2005.

Championship Off Road Racing™ sanctions, promotes and produces closed course off road racing, and has been “The Place to Race Off Road” since 1997. CORR™ offers a wide range of vehicle classes from single seat buggies to the fan-favorite Pro 4™, Pro 2™ and Pro Lite™ truck classes.

Media Contact: Ms. Deanne Vernengo
Phone: 949-467-2341
E-mail: Media@CORRacing.com
CORRacing Site: www.corracing.com

Questions? Comments? Please visit our Forum.

Share this article: